The Federal Constitution of Mexico ratified 1824

The Federal Constitution of Mexico was ratified on October 4, 1824, after the overthrow of Mexican Emperor Augustin I, a former general who had decided to crown himself. The representative federal republic was christened the United Mexican States.  The constitution promulgated three branches of power:  Legislative, Executive and Judicial.  The Legislative branch was represented by two chambers of Deputies and Senators, and the terms of the President and Vice President were limited to four years.  About 30 years later, this constitution was replaced by the Federal Constitution of the United Mexican States of 1857.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *