Bolivian Independence Day 1825

On August 6, 1825, Bolivia declared its independence from Spain, which was finally recognized by the Spanish in 1847.  Bolivia was part of the mighty Incan Empire, conquered by the Spanish in the 16th century.  The country was named for Simon Bolivar, the “George Washington of South America”, who led wars of independence across the continent.  Today, Bolivia is a diverse, multiethnic society of 10 million people.  The primary languages are Spanish, Guarani, Aymara and Quechua; 34 ethnic languages are officially recognized.  Bolivia recognizes a national European style coat of arms and the Wiphala, the flag of the people of the Andes.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *