Organization of Central American States, 1951

On October 14, 1951, the governments of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua signed a treaty creating the Organization of Central American States (Organización de Estados Centroamericanos, ODECA).  The purpose of ODECA was to promote regional cooperation, integrity and unity in Central America.  ODECA evolved into the Central American Integration System (SITA), with the ratification of the Tegucigalpa Protocol in 1991.  SITA’s headquarters building is located in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, and was built with the generous support of the People and Government of the Republic of China (Taiwan).

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *