Multiple Independence Days in the Americas 1821

On September 15, 1821, the nations of Nicaragua, Honduras, Guatemala, Costa Rica and El Salvador declared independence from Spain.  The nations briefly formed the United Provinces of Central America, but this union dissolved in 1840. The populations of these countries are multi-ethnic, and many people are descended from the sophisticated Mayan civilization that dominated most of the region prior to the the Spanish invasion. Several other South American countries celebrate their independence during this time period – Mexico (September 16), Chile (September 18) and Belize (September 21). Thus, September 15 was selected as the start of our US National Hispanic/Latinx Heritage Month.  (Image from, 1815 map of Central America by Lizars)

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *