A Message from Monroe

Fortunately, during at least the 18th Century, US Presidents issued dignified and respectful statements about South American sovereignty, in sharp contrast to our 21st Century Tweeter-in-Chief.  On March 8, 1822, President James Monroe sent a message to Congress demanding recognition of five Spanish American nations: Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru.  In his message, Monroe wrote, “The revolutionary movement in the Spanish Provinces in this hemisphere attracted the attention and excited the sympathy of our fellow-citizens from its commencement. This feeling was natural and honorable to them, from causes which need not be communicated to you. It has been gratifying to all to see the general acquiescence which has been manifested in the policy which the constituted authorities have deemed it proper to pursue in regard to this contest.”

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *